Valentine’s Day 10 Miler

It is snowing again. This weekend we are getting substantial snowfall and that is frustrating for my trail running heart! I also needed a good reason to move my car around to make sure it still works (and to use the ‘chair’ method of parking spot saving, which I have a fear of doing).

Sky girl in the car. "What are we doing, mom???"

Sky girl in the car. “What are we doing, mom???”

Today, for the first time in a few weeks, I finally got out to test out the trails. Word on the street was that the snowshoers and CC skiers have done marvelous packing of the snow on the trails at the Middlesex Fells! Well, I didn’t really know what to expect. A few friends had mentioned letting them know if I were going but I wasn’t sure how the trails would be or even how my legs would be (I had an increase in miles this week and was certainly feeling it). So I packed up my #1 best Valentine–Sky girl– and headed to the Long’s Pond to see what was going on out there.

I brought a pack and microspikes.. wore both the entire time. The trails were wonderful! There was about a yard width or more of packed snow that was mostly runnable, although sometimes it got dangerous. Occasionally, if running too close to the edge, I would sink through until the snow was mid-thigh. That is what I call good ankle breaking conditions.

10431438_10153561842523056_3267927812544105625_n 10993442_10153561842533056_8540062935999453227_n

So there were a lot of points where I had to slow down or even hike because I was either tired or afraid of breaking my ankle or just had to break trail myself and thus couldn’t run on pre-packed white goodness. Anyway, I’m really happy I got out. This winter has been really upsetting to me for a number of reasons, all of which are not worth mentioning. Running has been really great at keeping me sane and I really missed getting on trails. I think, today, I will shop online for snowshoes that are good for runners. This way I will not have to wait for the rest of the greater Boston area to get out and pack down my trails,but I will be able to do it on my own!

Sky is the devil (at the watchtower)

Sky is the devil (at the watchtower)

Obligatory trail selfie

Obligatory trail selfie

Leave a comment